The Smile’s new album is ‘pretty much done’.

The Smile, a band consisting of Radiohead’s Thom Yorke, Jonny Greenwood and Sons of Kemet’s Tom Skinner have announced a promising update on their debut album.

Having debuted at Glastonbury’s Live at Worthy livestream, they released four singles: ‘You Will Never Work in Television‘, ‘Skrting on the Surface‘, ‘The Smoke‘ and ‘Pana-Vision‘.

Greenwood and Yorke reflect on their creative process on the ‘Smartless’ podcast, Thom shared: “Jonny had come with a bunch of ideas, and I hadn’t seen him for a while, so they all just came pouring out before I could go, ‘Wait, wait, wait.’ There was a lot of me retrospectively going, ‘Okay, what am I going to do with that?’ Which was really nice.”

Thom also comments that he relished the challenge of making the new album, saying “I like trying to find different ways to write lyrics. I like to find different ways to assemble music. I like to learn new instruments, like Jonny.”

“It wakes me up in the morning and probably always will, unless I lose my ability to think straight. There isn’t anything else. There’s not like, ‘Now we must move into this area,’ there’s not any sort of aesthetic agenda. You’re influenced by what you listen to. I’m always sort of buying new music.”

The three-piece band will be performing across Europe during May to July 2022, you can buy tickets here.

What's your reaction?

In Love
Not Sure

You may also like

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published.